University Congregational Church (UCC) is composed of its members, who comprise the decision-making body of the church.  UCC’s leadership organization includes officers in the Cabinet, committees, ministry teams, and other groupings as determined by the agreement of its members.  The officers of the church are the moderator, vice-moderator, clerk, and treasurer.  The officers are elected at the annual congregational meeting and will hold office from July 1 through June 30 until the close of the next annual meeting or until their successor(s) have been elected.  Cabinet members may serve a maximum of six consecutive years.

The Cabinet is composed of the officers plus the pastor(s), a representative of each Area Coordinating Team and Standing Committee, at most three at-large members, the Preschool liaison, and the past moderator.  The main responsibilities of the Cabinet are to provide direction to and coordinate activities of the ministry areas and committees; oversee fiscal management; approve ad hoc committees; appoint delegates; prepare the annual budget for congregational approval; oversee personnel policies for staff in conjunction with the personnel committee; take action to promote the mission of the church.

The Executive Committee is comprised of the moderator, vice-moderator, clerk, treasurer, and pastor.  The past moderator may serve on the Executive Committee as well.  This Committee is responsible for coordinating the Cabinet’s activities, setting the Cabinet agenda, and facilitating communications between the Cabinet, staff, teams, and committees.

More information on the Area Coordinating Teams and Standing Committees is available here and in the UCC Library.